Skip to content

Video: Fatima – La Neta

February 6, 2014

Screen shot 2014-02-06 at 17.55.48

Screen shot 2014-02-06 at 17.50.21

Screen shot 2014-02-06 at 17.55.07

Screen shot 2014-02-06 at 17.53.26

As hard as I might try, I can’t listen to the radio.  I just don’t like not knowing what’s coming up next and as soon as any song comes along that I don’t like, I’m off. I also spend far too much time creating my own playlists on Spotify to be able to sit still long enough to listen to anyone else’s. The one exception being Fabian Hart’s Hartbeats. Possibly because Fabian is one of my favourite people in the world but also because he has fucking fabulous taste in music.

Based in Hamburg, Germany [my beautiful hometown], I recently went back to attend Fabian’s Hartfest – a celebration to relaunch his ridiculously succesful blog. Musically, it was one of the best nights I’ve been to in forever with good DJing and an incredible performance from Aerea Negrot who channelled the eccentricities of Grace Jones; all high kicks and wild, gutteral vocals. But my favourite bit was when at about 4am in the morning  we kicked the final DJ off the decks and plugged Fabian’s iPhone in so we could throw down on the dancefloor to most of Beyonce’s new album with a couple of Gaga tracks thrown in for good measure.

Every couple of week’s, Fabian updates his growing Hartbeats playlist on Spotify which is where I came across this new Fatima track ‘La Neta’ the other day. If you watch the video, she spends a lot of time pulling the ‘what’s that funky smell?’  face which is the exact face I made the first [and second and third…] time I heard the chorus. I challenge you not to do the same.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

