Skip to content

Not My Fault You Can’t Speak German: Joy Denalane

November 23, 2011

One of my favourite people in the whole world Fabian Hart has just uploaded a short interview with one of my favourite German singers Joy Denalane. It’s good having people back home in the motherland keeping you up to date as otherwise I would’ve had no idea she had a new album out.

[Click on the image above to view it!]

Joy Denalane’s latest release Maureen is such a welcome comeback after the very middle of the road English language album Born & Raised she did a few years back. Someone once told me that they didn’t think soul music worked when sang in German but they’ve obviously got caterpillars in their ears. I loved Denalane when she featured on German hip hop collective Freundeskreis’ ‘Mit Dir’ track , her debut album Mamani was beautiful and now I’m really enjoying all the In Session videos off the new album that I found on YouTube yesterday. I’ve posted a couple of my favourites below:

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

