Skip to content

Visualized: Clueless OMP Soundtrack

April 7, 2011


I’m warning you now – this is going to be epic. I’m tired, hungover, a little bit delirious and the ‘brilliant’ idea has just popped into my head that I’m going to bring to life – with videos, photographs, whatever media is available – the classic soundtrack from the 1995 film Clueless. If you stumbled across this post in a quest to save the world from famine or war, look away now!

It’s not my favourite film of the 90s but I remember when it first came out, it took at least six months before anybody could stop curling up their top lips, saying ‘as if’, throwing up the ‘W’ sign and the obligatory ‘Whateverrrrr’, everyone had to ‘talk to the hand’, or they were a ‘loser’ with massive ‘L’ fingers on their forehead, or a ‘loser….in a box’ or a ‘loser, double loser, whateverrrr’… if anything Clueless single-handedly perfected my Valley girl accent.

But this is all irrelevant – as this post will be in the grander scheme of things – but I’m going all out! The Muffs, Velocity Girl, Coolio, Smoking Popes (??) – I’m gonna find it all. So here goes:

1. The Muffs – Kids in America

If you type ‘The Muffs Kids in America’ into YouTube, the majority of the videos that pop up are random people taking part in Rock Band competitions as apparently their version of that Kim Wilde track (yes that one) is having a minor resurgence due to the popular video game.

The band’s lead singer Kim Shattuck is exactly the kind of women you wanted to be in the 90s when grunge was the thing and girls were proud of their dark roots, babydoll dresses and red lipstick. But that doesn’t make me want to subject myself to this song, but be my guest. You know what I do wanna do though? Watch these rad videos from some channel called KDOC that are so 90s it makes me wanna cry:

2. Cracker – Shake Some Action

Ah forget it. A Californian alt-rock band who are still touring and still wearing lumberjack shirts – boring! This was a cover version of a Flamin’ Groovies track though and the original is much better and the Flamin’ Groovies are much more interesting, so let’s watch them instead. Is that cheating?

3. Counting Crows – The Ghost In You (live)


What is up with Courtney Cox? She obviously has a thing for men who dress in strange attire because between Adam Duritz and David Arquette there’s a whole world of stupid costumes to choose from. And I’m not letting Adam off in this video because it’s Halloween….

 

Anyway, enough of all this whining, let’s listen to the Counting Crows song everyone really wants to hear [and if you’re expecting ‘Colorblind’, you are just going to have to wait until I decide to do this all over again with Cruel Intentions]:

4. Luscious Jackson – Here (Squirmel Mix)

Right, time for a quick look into the workings of my mind. If you’re looking for someone to blame for this gratuitous post, then look no further than Luscious Jackson. I was actually just going to write about them and their first EP In Search of Manny – when they were still Beastie Boy sidekicks with aspirations of being white, female rappers – but then I got just a little bit side-tracked. Just a little…

I have no idea who, what or where Squirmel is, but here is Luscious Jackson performing the original version in another video that will teleport you back to the mid-90s.

5. World Party – All The Young Dudes


So World Party, or Karl Wallinger as it says on his birth certificate, is an English artist responsible for the original version of ‘She’s The One’, that awful song that Robbie Williams subjected us to in 1999. He really makes my skin crawl. So again, lets skip his watery version of this legendary classic rock tune and watch Mott The Hoople do it properly. In platforms. Yes.

6. Radiohead – Fake Plastic Trees (acoustic version)

Nope, sorry. Couldn’t find anything about these ones. No idea who they are. Completely fallen off, I reckon.

7. The Lightening Seeds – Change

This seems to be the dodgy British bit in the middle of this soundtrack – I don’t care what people say, Britpop was never, ever, ever really as good as people like to think or say it was. There was Blur and Oasis and then just a bunch of other shite [to put it in my best Queen’s English] like The Lightening Seeds.

8. Smoking Popes – Need You Around

Oh, they’re just like Blink-182 or Crazy Town. I knew I shouldn’t have gotten my hopes up…

9. Beastie Boys – Mullet Head

10. The Mighty Mighty Bosstones – Where’d You Go?

Yes these guys remind me of Sublime. There was a guy in my school who lurved Sublime. He used to have them on his discman all time, but discmans being discmans, he had to carry it carefully on the palm of his hand like a waiter. Not smooth. That’s why I never had one….

…ok I lied. I always wanted one but I used my birthday/christmas present allotment up getting the CDs themselves and not portable means of listening to them.

11. Coolio – Rollin’ With My Homies

How can we get this far down the list and this is the only song I can actually remember from the film?

12. Supergrass – Alright

I found this old Top Of The Pops clip from 1995 with Supergrass looking properly young [like likkle bubbas] and performing this song – the trick is though that you have to sit through Edwyn Collins’ ‘Never Met A Girl Like You Before’.  But on the bright side, once you get through Supergrass, you get to watch The Outhere Brothers ‘Boom Boom Boom’. And they were number one that week! Oh happy eurodance days.

[Just as a side note: This is the first third of the TOTP show that the Supergrass performance was taken from. What is going on with Jinny? Is that not the most insulting thing you’ve ever seen? I can’t believe they used to get away with that.]

13. Velocity Girl – My Forgotten Favorite


‘I siiiiiiinnngggggggg’. Oh no.

14. Jill Sobule – Supermodel


I’ve officially lost the will to live. This soundtrack is dire. Even this last track can’t lift my spirits and to make things worse all the videos of it on YouTube are just slideshow videos using photographs of… you guessed it, supermodels.

Conclusion: Lets not do this again too soon, shall we?

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 15, 2011 4:58 pm

    of course I out of everyone stumble accross this post as im on my way to saving the world from famine and war….!!!!

Leave a Reply

