Skip to content

Well, well, well….

June 23, 2010

…speak of the devil. One minute I’m racking up a whole lotta lawsuits by alluding to D’s possible flirtations with the C-word (haha…not what you’re thinking! Although maybe. Maybe that’s exactly what’s kept him away for 10 years. Wouldn’t that be great?) and then, a mere seconds later, my Google fingers stumble across a D’Angelo interview. Not from 10 years ago but – wait for it – from last week!  The Urban Daily recieved a call from his people who said D wanted to talk (albeit with all the really juicy sujects way outta bounds) and yesterday posted a transcript of their telephone conversation with the man himself. You can read the full interview here. But I think the pull quote of the year has to be:

“I just want them to know that I’m coming. That’s all.  I’m in the kitchen and I’m cooking up something real nice.”

Amen.

But actually besides his promises of new material, I quite excited that he’s been getting into the Afro Punk movement – all listening to Black Merda and Bad Brains -word! Summer of 2008, I attended the Afro Punk festival in Brooklyn and if D ever decides to make an appearance, that is going to be crazy. I can’t even imagine what it’s gonna be like this year what with Mos Def having just signed on to be part of the line-up.

Anyway, they’ve been floating around the web for a while but I thought there could be no better time to post these Voodoo outtakes (inlcuding a dope version of Johnny ‘Guitar’ Watson’s ‘Superman Lover’ )here on PUB.lication – so enjoy!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

