Skip to content

The Spotify Sgt. Pepper’s Challenge

February 23, 2010

Ok, so I know I just did one of these but it was a pretty beautiful way to waste a lot of time on Spotify, so I quickly ran off to do another one. Admittedly I tried to do Neil Young’s Harvest first but completely failed to come up with the whole album, although I did get 6 out of the 10 tracks if you wanna check it out here.

So I went with something much much easier. Like almost ridiculously easy. Nearly every song on Sergeant Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band has been covered by about 100,000,0001 people – give or take. To be honest I should’ve just copy/pasted the entire Easy Star’s Lonely Heart Dub Band album. U Roy doing ‘Lovely Rita’ or Matisyahu’s ‘Within  You Without You’? Yeah you need to check it out.

But in the end, I picked out some of the best covers for the challenge including Elton John’s ‘Lucy In The Sky…’, Syreeta’s ‘She’s Leaving Home’, an odd Bill Cosby version of the title track and, because it’s one of my faves, two ‘A Day In The Life’ recordings – Jose Feliciano and Eric Burdon & War. Click the album cover for the link!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

