Skip to content

Have One On Me (Or on NPR…)

February 23, 2010

Not out in the UK until next Monday but already easily one of the most beautiful records that is going to come out this year. And how do I know this? Because NPR are streaming the entire record here. All two hours of it!

Just like NPR says, it’s easy to let it drift into the background but you have to wrap your ears  around the lyrics because that’s where Newsom really shows her worth. They picked out a few lines from the title track but I also love the opening verses  to ’81’:

“I found a little plot of land
in the garden of eden
it was dirt and dirt is all the same

I tilled it with my two hands
and I called it my very own
There was no one to dispute my claim”

Yeah it’s one of the tracks that was release onto the net a while back and it’s full of earth and dirt but that’s Newsom in a nutshell. So far along with ’81’ and the title track, I’m charmed by ‘Good Intentions Paving Co.’ and mesmerised by ‘Easy’ and, of course, ‘Baby Birch’ that is one of the first pieces of music to really deserve a Kate Bush comparison with its horns and violins  leaping and skipping back and forth over the piano line.

Make sure you place a pre-order for this 3xLP because it’s not going to sound better on anything other than shiny black 12″.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

