Skip to content

This is funny: RipFork

January 27, 2010

Yeap, I know, there is something really presumptuous (read: dick-ish) about writing albums reviews. Musicians can spend weeks, even years, recording what to them is the seminal album of their career and then we come along and in less than an hour  can break it all down in sometimes under 200 words. Or worse, in epic, garbled essays full of pretentious (read: wank) metaphors. But considering being a musician is a pretty sweet job, as is being a music critic, I think we should all just roll with the punches.

Which is why I’m loving my latest discovery: RipFork. It’s run by Matt Wendus, a disappointingly self-deprecating ex-music critic (personally I think he should  just stick to his guns without including bullet-dodging statements like: ‘I’m a bad writer writing about a bad writer. I come off a lot like someone who’s had a fair few rejection letters from publications unwilling to give my so-called unique style a chance.’). But Wendus has now made it his new favourite past time to take to task wordy, pompous music reviews. Oh we’re all guilty at some point!

All of this is then interspersed with some pretty genius homemade YouTube cover version videos like this (sticking with the Gaga-theme) bathroom recording of ‘Bad Romance’:

Oh hours and hours of fun.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 28, 2010 12:42 am

    Howdy Francesca,

    I’m glad you enjoy the site. On a side note, the self-deprecating stuff was actually stuff from the comment boards written about me that I’d changed to the first person. But now that I think about it, you’re right. I shall stick to my guns, strafe the imps, and aim for the toxic barrels.

    -Matt W.

  2. Vanessa permalink
    February 6, 2010 1:37 pm

    This ‘Bad Romance’ cover is hilarious… I think I prefer it to the original!!
    He even has the lip-gloss and moves and everything, it’s just genius! And those amazing acoustics you only find in bathrooms or stairwells…wow. I’m almost inspired to go and record something in my bathroom right now x

Leave a Reply

